Maryland Patient Safety Center

Board of Directors


David Mayer, MD, Executive Director, MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety


  • Gerald Abrams, Director, Abrams, Foster, Nole & Williams, PA
  • Robert Atlas, MD, Chairman, Dept. of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Mercy Medical Center
  • Sen. Malcolm Augustine, Maryland State Senate, District 47
  • Cherif Boutros, MD, MSc, FACS, FACG,  Assoc. Prof. of Surgery, UMD School of Medicine
    Medical Director, Tate Cancer Center
    Chief, Surgical Oncology, UMD Baltimore Washington Medical Center
  • Marcia Boyle, Founder, Immune Deficiency Foundation; Patient Advocate
  • Blair Eig, MD, President and CEO, Maryland Patient Safety Center
  • Barbara Epke, Former Vice President, LifeBridge Health, Inc. & Sinai Hospital of Baltimore
  • Badia Faddoul, DNP, RN, CCRN, CPHQ, Sr. Director of Quality and Safety, Johns Hopkins Home Care Group
  • E. Robert Feroli, Jr., PharmD, FASHP, Medication Safety, Armstrong Institute
  • Brian Frankel, Assistant Fire Chief, EMS Commander, Prince George’s County Fire Department
  • Jack Gentry, Retired Police Officer, Baltimore City; Patient Advocate
  • Deborah Graves, President, Levindale Geriatric Center
  • Kevin D. Heffner, President & CEO, LifeSpan Network
  • Andrea M. Hyatt,CASC, President, Maryland Ambulatory Surgery Association
  • Debra Illig, Vice President, Clinical Effectiveness and Patient Safety, Adventist HealthCare
  • Allen Kachalia, MD, Assoc. Prof., Dept. of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

    Senior Vice President for Patient Safety and Quality, Johns Hopkins Medicine

    Director, Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality

  • Martin A. Makary, MD, M.P.H., F.A.C.S., Professor of Surgery, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
    Professor of Health Policy and Management, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
    Chief, Islet Transplant Surgery, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Sherry Perkins, PhD, RN, President, Anne Arundel Medical Center
  • Podge M. Reed, Jr., Former Hospital Administrator; Patient Advocate
  • Del. Sheree Sample-Hughes, Maryland House of Delegates, District 37A
  • Nicole Dempsey Stallings, Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Maryland Hospital Association
  • Barbara Tachovsky, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, Former President, Mainline Hospitals, Paoli, PA